

900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 600 Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212 (785) 296-3203 www.ksde.org

Danny Zeck

Dr. Deena Horst

Melanie Haas

Michelle Dombrosky

Ann E. Mah

Cathy Hopkins

Dennis Hershberger

Betty I. Arnold

Jim Porter

Jim McNiece

SUMMARY OF THE MAY 2023 STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION MTG

Action

- Approved 8 public school district ESSER II change requests, 18 ESSER III expenditure plan applications and 26 ESSER III change requests as recommended by the Task Force for use of federal COVID-19 relief funds.
- Approved the Accreditation Review Council's KESA Recommendation to grant the status of Accredited to USD 106 Western Plains; USD 111 Doniphan West; USD 223 Barnes; USD 224 Clifton-Clyde; USD 235 Uniontown; USD 338 Valley Falls; USD 367 Osawatomie; USD 412 Hoxie; USD 420 Osage City; USD 431 Hoisington; USD 449 Easton; USD 469 Lansing; USD 503 Parsons; Z0026-0642 Linn Lutheran; Conditionally Accredited – USD 245 LeRoy-Gridley and USD 422 Kiowa County.
- Approved Board goals for May 2023 December 2024.
- Approved preschool-aged at-risk programs, recommendations for funding Kansas Preschool Pilot grants and recommendations for funding Kansas Parents as Teachers grants for 2023-2024.
- Approved Memorandum of Agreement between Kansas State School for the Blind and Kansas Department of Health and Environment.
- Approved recommendations of the Professional Practices Commission.
- Approved Registered Apprenticeship Pilot Program Grant.
- Approved extending the Emergency Substitute License for two years.
- Approved proposed Emergency Safety Intervention Regulation Amendments.
- In three separate votes, the Board approved all items on the consent agenda.

Presentations

- Dr. Randy Watson monthly Commissioner's Report to the Board centered on appreciation for Kansas teachers and the work they do, sharing statistics on number of teachers in Kansas, the schools they serve in, etc.
- Jay Scott (KSDE) presented 46 systems (45 public and 1 private) school systems to be approved for accreditation status at the June 2023 meeting. Additionally, 1 school was presented for conditional accreditation and 1 school for withdrawal from KESA.

- Dr. Craig Neuenswander updated the State Board on the current Kansas legislative session.
- 1st graders at Heatherstone Elementary School (Olathe USD 233) provided a presentation on agriculture curriculum and McLouth High School (McLouth USD 342) provided a presentation on their welding instruction as a part of their FFA program.
- The Board recognized the 2022 Blue Ribbon Schools (Cottonwood Elementary School, Andover USD 385; Morris Hill Elementary School, Geary County USD 475 and R.L. Wright Elementary School, Sedgwick USD 439) and the 2023 US Senate Youth Kansas Delegates and Alternates.
- KSDE staff members provided presentations on proposed changes to English Language Arts standards, Individual Plans of Study, status update of 2023 legislation that was passed, school budgeting, and proposed updates to substitute licensure.

Next Regular Meeting – Tuesday - Wednesday, June 13th and 14th (Landon State Office Building)